Carly Pearce’s ‘Every Little Thing’ Is Raw and Real

Carly Pearce‘s debut LP Every Little Thing (Big Machine Records) displays her remarkable vocal ability as well as emotional depth in each and every song she pens. Each track takes you on a trip, twisting and turning along a fascinating path filled with highs and lows of a life well lived so far.

The 13-song album, produced by Busbee (Maren Morris, Lady Antebellum, Keith Urban, Kelly Clarkson, Katy Perry), features the hit track “If My Name Was Whiskey” and includes co-writes with some of the hottest songwriters in the industry such as Ashley Gorley, Luke Laird, Natalie Hemby, Shane McAnally and Hillary Lindsey in addition to the eight tracks Pearce co-wrote.

Photo credit: Harper Smith

Every Little Thing is about life, love and relationships. It has its fair share of heart-string-pulling ballads but fans will also enjoy some of the more mid-tempo tracks such as the sassy “Catch Fire” and infectious melody of  “Honeysuckle.” “Hide The Wine” is sultry and seductive, with a funky bluegrass vibe. Pearce sings about what happens when you reignite the spark with an old flame. “I better hide the wine, yeah. Knock, knock, hear ya comin’, knockin’ on my door. But you’re gonna have to wait another minute on the porch. Oh no, no, it’s a dangerous thing pourin’ alcohol on an old flame.”

“Careless” is a play on words and is cleverly written by Pearce and Emily Shackelton. The song is about a boy who seems to care less about her feelings. “Everybody Gonna Talk” is a boot-stomping good time filled with attitude. It’s got a don’t worry about what people say, go ahead and do what you want message but with swagger. “If they got the time, we got the business. If they can’t stay on their side of the fence then oh, let’s give ‘em a show now, whoa. Kiss me underneath the streetlight glow, make sure they got a good view through them windows. And watch the word get around, whoa.”

The second single off the album, “If My Name Was Whiskey,” is a heavily emotional, moving ballad that has been climbing country charts since its release.

“Doin’ It Right” has Pearce letting a guy who thinks he’s smooth know that she’s on to his games. “You Know Where To Find Me” describes the peaceful feeling of being in a relationship where your partner knows how to ease your worries and balances you perfectly. “When I don’t know where to go, and life feels a lot like a tornado, spinnin’ me around with out a plan to land, oh.  There in the chaos, we lock eyes. You always show up right on time. Swear you calm the storm with the touch of your hand.”

“Dare Ya,” which was released in May of 2016 as a single, teases the guy she’s attracted to by sending him blatant signs of her interest.  She sings, “I took your coat, I wasn’t that cold. I got a little too close, come on, don’t you know. Am I givin’ you enough to let you know that I want ya? My heart’s beatin’ out like thunder, are you gonna kiss me, are ya gonna make me wonder?” 

Standout Tracks:

“Color” beautifully describes an opposites a love story detailing how opposites can truly compliment one another. Key lyrics: “You be the lines, I’ll be the color. Just like the day and night need each other, life ain’t as good without the other. You be the lines, I’ll be the color. I’ll be the color. You’re the rock, you’re the steady. You need someone to push you in before you’re ready. Well, I’m the rush, I’m the crazy, but I’ll be circlin’ the moon without you, baby.”

“I Need A Ride Home” will have you headed down memory lane wanting to re-live the moments in life that go by too fast. It’s nostalgic and sweet and listening to it will no doubt leave you feeling homesick. Key lyrics: “I wanna hear the click of that old transmission. I need a quick trip back to that table in the kitchen. I wanna see that little creek rushin’ right next to those fields full of nothin’. I need a strong shot of somethin’ I’ve been missin’, yeah.”

“Every Little Thing,” the album’s title track and first single, has continuously sold over 10,000 digital downloads each week and has exceeded 28 million on-demand streams to date. It’s a hauntingly beautiful, gorgeously sung song that hits you right in the gut. In the clip below Pearce explains that she wrote the song based on her real-life experience of handling heartbreak.

“Feel Something'” literally begs for more emotion or reaction out of a relationship. Written by busbee, Natalie Hemby and Shane McAnally, its catchy chorus will resonate with anyone who’s yearned for more emotion. “Make me laugh, make me cry, make me wish we never met, make me feel something.  And if it hurts, it’s alright.  At least I know that we’re not dead.  Make me feel somethin’.”


There is literally a song for everyone on this album and with it Carly Pearce securely solidifies her spot as one of the genre’s next great artists. She’s got a depth and authenticity to her that allow her to truly connect to the listener through her music and we aren’t alone in that opinion. People Magazine named her the “New Voice of Country,” SiriusXM The Highway first debuted “Every Little Thing” as one of their “Highway Finds” and went on to name her as one of their Future Five for 2017. Pearce is one of only four female country artists to have a single in the top 10 on country airplay charts in 2017 thus far.


For more information, visit her website, Instagram, Twitter and Facebook. Catch her this fall as a special guest on Brett Young’s “CALIVILLE TOUR”.


Every Little Thing track list:

1. “Hide The Wine” (Ashley Gorley, Luke Laird, Hillary Lindsey)
2. “Careless” (Carly Pearce, Emily Shackelton)
3. “Every Little Thing” (Carly Pearce, busbee, Emily Shackelton)
4. “Everybody Gonna Talk” (Carly Pearce, busbee, Emily Weisband)
5. “Catch Fire” (busbee, Natalie Hemby)
6. “If My Name Was Whiskey” (Carly Pearce, busbee, Shane McAnally)
7. “Color” (Carly Pearce, busbee, Laura Veltz)
8. “I Need A Ride Home” (Ashley Gorley, Matt Jenkins, Hillary Lindsey)
9. “Doin’ It Right” (Carly Pearce, Oscar Charles, Allison Veltz)
10. “Feel Somethin'” (busbee, Natalie Hemby, Shane McAnally)
11. “You Know Where To Find Me” (Carly Pearce, busbee, Emily Shackelton)
12. “Honeysuckle” (busbee, Barry Dean, Hillary Lindsey)
13. “Dare Ya” (Carly Pearce, Joe Ginsberg, Allison Veltz)