Chris Stapleton Announces Track List for New Album ‘From A Room: Volume 1’

Chris Stapleton recently announced his All American Road Show Tour, which launches in May, and hinted at new music to come the same month. Today, he released more details surrounding the forthcoming album, From A Room: Volume 1, due out May 5. The title of the project is a nod to the recording space at historic RCA Studio A in Nashville, now the permanent workspace of producer Dave Cobb. (Cobb also produced Stapleton’s Grammy-winning Traveller LP, and recruited both Chris and his wife, Morgane, for the Southern Family compilation.) Volume 1 includes nine tracks – all new material except the Willie Nelson classic “Last Thing I Needed, First Thing This Morning” – and will be followed by a second project, Volume 2, later this year.

Stapleton collaborated with longtime co-writer (and former Steeldrivers bandmate) Mike Henderson on four of the nine tracks, and also enlisted Casey Beathard, Tim James, Kendall Marvel, Craig Wiseman, Jimmy Stewart, and Shawn Camp on the project. From Room A‘s other contributors include Morgane Stapleton on harmony vocals, J.T. Cure on bass, Derek Mixon on drums, Mickey Raphael on harmonica, Robby Turner on pedal steel, and Mike Webb on keys. Stapleton debuted the first taste of the project with a rousing performance of “Second One to Know” at last Sunday’s ACM Awards, and the album’s forthcoming lead single will be “Either Way.”

From A Room: Volume 1 is now available for pre-order via Stapleton’s website. Tickets for the All American Road Show Tour are on sale now, with seven new dates recently added.

From A Room: Volume 1 Track List:

1. “Broken Halos” (Chris Stapleton and Mike Henderson)
2. “Last Thing I Needed, First Thing This Morning” (Gary P. Nunn and Donna Sioux Farar)
3. “Second One to Know” (Chris Stapleton and Mike Henderson)
4. “Up to No Good Livin'” (Chris Stapleton and Casey Beathard)
5. “Either Way” (Chris Stapleton, Tim James and Kendall Marvel)
6. “I Was Wrong” (Chris Stapleton and Craig Wiseman)
7. “Without Your Love” (Chris Stapleton and Mike Henderson)
8. “Them Stems” (Chris Stapleton, Jimmy Stewart and Shawn Camp)
9. “Death Row” (Chris Stapleton and Mike Henderson)