Hear Old Dominion’s “Written in the Sand” from Forthcoming ‘Happy Endings’ LP

Old Dominion debuted “No Such Thing As A Broken Heart,” the lead single from the band’s sophomore album Happy Endings, earlier this summer. Today, the group released a second track from Happy Endings: “Written in the Sand,” a beachy back-and-forth about a relationship on the rocks. The lyrics question the longevity of a summer love, while the production adds just enough of an island vibe to alleviate the gravity of the message.

Key Lyrics: “Turn me on turn me off then you turn me back on by the weekend / And you won’t say the words that I want but you flirt when you’re drinkin’ / I see those bubbles pop up like you’re texting then they disappear / Let’s cut through the shit then let’s get to what we’re doing here.”

Happy Endings Track List:

  1. No Such Thing as a Broken Heart
  2. Shoe Shopping
  3. Not Everything’s About You
  4. Hotel Key
  5. Be With Me
  6. Written in the Sand
  7. So You Go
  8. Stars in the City
  9. New York at Night
  10. A Girl is a Gun
  11. Still Writing Songs About You
  12. Can’t Get You (Live)

Happy Endings is due out August 25. Find album release and pre-order info here.