Miranda Lambert’s “Sweet By and By” previews “Southern Family” compilation

“Sweet By and By,” released Friday, is Miranda Lambert’s contribution to producer Dave Cobb’s forthcoming concept album, “Southern Family.” The song is just as the title suggests – sweet, gentle and nostalgic. The lyrics give an appreciative nod to idyllic childhoods and “lessons learned” from an older-and-wiser perspective, and Lambert’s vocals are strong yet not overdone. (To put it simply, this song should make you want to crack open a cold one on your parents’ porch and thank them for loving you.)

Key Lyrics: “Daddy I have not forgotten, the lessons learned under the light of the Southern starry sky // Family’s the light that guides us, blessed be the ties that bind us, sweet by and by.”


“Southern Family” will be released March 18 and features a slew of Nashville greats, including Jason Isbell, Morgane and Chris Stapleton, Zac Brown, and Brandy Clark, to name a few. The LP features all-new songs chosen or written by the artists as a reflection of what “Southern Family” means to them. Check out the full tracklist and listen to “Simple Song” by John Paul White (of Civil Wars fame) below.


Full “Southern Family” tracklist:

  1. Simple Song – John Paul White
  2. God Is a Working Man – Jason Isbell
  3. Down Home – Brent Cobb
  4. Sweet By and By – Miranda Lambert
  5. You Are My Sunshine (with Chris Stapleton) – Morgane Stapleton
  6. Grandma’s Garden – Zac Brown
  7. Momma’s Table – Jamey Johnson
  8. Learning – Anderson East
  9. Settle Down – Holly Williams
  10. I Cried – Brandy Clark
  11. Can You Come Over? – Shooter Jennings
  12. The Way Home – Rich Robinson

1 Comment

  1. LOVE this new Miranda song! Her vocals are on point. She co-wrote it w/ Brent Cobb (Guy who wrote Old Shit on Platinum). It is just a classic country song. Thumbs up!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *